The Falls of Rough Bridge is a pedestrian crossing over the Rough River on a former alignment of KY Route 110 in Falls of Rough, Kentucky.
The Falls of Rough Bridge, a bowstring through truss 148 feet in length, was constructed in 1877 by the King Bridge Company of Cleveland, Ohio. 1 2 The unique truss design, patented in the 1860s by Zenis King, was considered ideal for rural settings as it was lightweight but sturdy. 2
By the 1980s, the bridge was considered deficient for modern loads. 2 With a five-ton weight limit, loaded school buses had to be emptied of students before the vehicle could cross the bridge. Abuse from overweight vehicles shook the bridge to its stone abutments advancing structural deterioration.
The Falls of Rough Bridge was closed to automobile traffic in January 1989 to accommodate repairs to several beams and to replace its wooden deck. 2 The repairs were considered temporary as the state was contemplating bypassing the crossing with a new bridge upstream.
In June 1991, the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet began work on a new alignment and bridge over the Rough River for KY Route 110, 3 4 which was opened to traffic in 1992. The old crossing’s ownership was transferred to the Breckenridge Fiscal Court.
- State: Kentucky
- Route: N/A
- Type: Bowstring Through Truss
- Status: Active - Pedestrian
- Total Length: 148 feet
- Deck Width: 15 feet
- Bleiberg, Larry. “Bridge carries history, but traffic’s tougher.” Courier-Journal [Louisville], 29 Jan. 1989, pp. B1-B6.
- Skillman, Laura. “Support for Rough Creek bridge sought.” Messenger-Inquirer [Owensboro], 30 May 1991, p. 1C.
- “Public Notice.” Courier-Journal [Louisville], 24 May 1991, p. D5.